30 Day OOTDs: Thursday 8/22

DSC_0131

Dresses are tough to fit correctly off the rack. When I first purchased this, I was in some denial, but now I admit this fit isn’t really good for my body. The waist hits a few inches above my belly button, giving it a somewhat half-assed empire-waist-but-not look, and while it would be a fit-and-flare-type dress it just doesn’t do that on me. On most days it makes me look like I have a (food) baby. I bought this in a large from Target’s Xhilaration brand, which is aimed at juniors. I think I can now accept I no longer have “junior” measurements, though my height will always stay the same: short.

I need to find a way to carve a waist out of this dress. It is perhaps the most matronly thing I am wearing in this entire collection of outfits, and I would like to change that. Somehow I felt like when I wore this in the fall, it wasn’t so bad…maybe wearing tights covered my legs and made it so there was no visible cutoff from the entire look. Either way I just don’t like this dress with bare legs. We shall see again when temperatures cool down and I can wear this with boots. Also, in fall and winter this was mostly covered by a coat, so you couldn’t really see the weaknesses of the dress.

Dress: old Target Xhilaration Fit n’ Flare Cap Sleeve dress
Sweater: Lands End Fine Gauge Supima Cardigan
Shoes: Gentle Souls by Kenneth Cole “Gabby”

5 thoughts on “30 Day OOTDs: Thursday 8/22

Leave a Reply

