End of the 30 Day OOTD Challenge – Summary and Thoughts

On Tuesday, I shot my last OOTD photograph for the challenge. 30 days, 30 outfits, plenty of pieces repeated. Here is my grid that I slaved over in Photoshop. There’s probably a faster way of making this that didn’t involve making 20,000+ layers and resizing each photograph till it fit the grid space cleanly…oh well. The job is done!

30dayootdgrid
30 days, 30 outfits, DONE!

I’m proud of that grid and I’m glad I made it through the challenge! I thought I’d get bored pretty quickly, but I settled into a routine of coming straight home after work, the tripod and camera set up and ready to go. I allowed myself a few minutes to run a comb through my hair, brush my teeth, and re-tuck a shirt or two, but otherwise you are seeing what I look like after a full day’s work and minimal makeup (just powder and tinted moisturizer.) Let’s face it, my primary goals are to make it to work with fresh breath, untangled hair, and the important parts covered; arriving with a fully lacquered face and windproof hair is at the bottom of the list.

With that being said, I felt like I learned some concrete things about my closet and style through completing this challenge:

1. I lack diversity in footwear.
I have a fierce shoe tan from the one ballet flat I own. I LOVE that Gentle Souls by Kenneth Cole “Gabby” flat, but it’s time to branch out. Expect an “On the Hunt” post from me re: other closed toed leather shoe options, e.g. an oxford or ankle boot (for fall.) For casual situations, I’d like a low-profile canvas sneaker or a sleek leather one. Probably going to prioritize the work-appropriate shoe first since in a pinch I can just use my Nike running shoes as casual shoes.

2. I have too many unworn tops.
I have blouses that no longer work with my style as I’ve chosen to define it, tank tops in rainbow colors I wouldn’t wear outside of the home, working out, or as layers for winter, and I have old knits waiting to be reassessed when fall temperatures decide to arrive in SoCal. These take up space in my closet. Time to cull.

3. Skirts and dresses in basic colors and cuts would be good to incorporate into this wardrobe.
Like the surprise H&M maxi dress (I never thought I could do maxi and not look like a total tree stump,) I think a few very basic cuts would be appropriate: a pencil skirt, and a plain maxi skirt would be great for fall. I’m eyeing Target, Uniqlo, and H&M for their fall rollouts. I’m going to revisit the Xhilaration dressΒ to find a way to create a waist out of it–as it is on me right now it’s shapeless.

4. Kristina, you don’t like anything but cotton.
I bought several Target polyester blouses when we had some spring warmth in May. I layered a cotton tank top underneath for modesty. I broiled in the heat, and the fabric is eternally itchy and creates untold amounts of static when combined with my hair. Never buying anything polyester again, and if I do, you have free reign to smack me. I haven’t worn those poly blouses since then, reaching for cotton instead every day. That should tell me something, shouldn’t it?

In the future I will most likely do this challenge again when I can wear more sweaters, boots, and coats in what passes for fall in Southern California. I can’t wait for things to cool down. In the meantime for the rest of September and likely October you’ll be hearing me talk about more things besides clothing–so I hope you’ll continue to follow along and share with me your thoughts!

Hooray! Now I’m off to a much awaited few days of rest. Be well everyone!

6 thoughts on “End of the 30 Day OOTD Challenge – Summary and Thoughts

  1. Wow I love how the grid really gives a sense of how you recombined pieces for so much variety. I think a cooler weather version of the same project sounds great! I’m looking forward to it.

    I also hear you on the minimal makeup. I have really sensitive skin, so I stick to red lipstick and eyeliner. Takes me less than 5 minutes in the morning, but makes me look less tired, which I notice more as I get older. I’ve also been gravitating towards more neutral colors in the past few years, so I like that pop of red.

    1. I’m really happy about the grid working out! Thank you πŸ™‚

      Re: makeup, I need to learn more about that. I was starting to think of some new goals to learn (say before holiday parties?) such as, learning liquid eyeliner/making a great cat’s-eye, and maybe finding the beefier alternative to Cherry Chapstick (I want a lipstick or gloss or balm that lasts longer and makes me look like I’m only wearing Chapstick!)

      Ooh, I like these ideas. Gotta have something to do while I wait for the weather to cool πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you for dropping by Sophia! I very much enjoyed doing the challenge. I may do another one when fall comes around–a lot of my wardrobe is actually more fall-oriented.

    1. Thanks Mel, I’m honored you stopped by!

      It’s something that’s been brewing in my head for a while, finally got the courage (and stopped caring about what others thought) to finally speak my mind, about what I like to wear and how I’d like to present myself to the world. I’ll keep writing as long as it’s fun and so far there’s no shortage of that πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

