Vintage Frames from Allyn Scura Eyewear

Today I’m going to be talking about my glasses. They’re a fairly new addition to my persona–I’ve only worn them for a year–mostly to correct my astigmatism which had always been present from childhood.  I finally sat down with the optometrist and he determined that a pair of glasses would help me out a lot. $300 later I had two pairs of eyeglasses and prescription sunglasses. I’ve since gotten used to wearing them full-time at work and while I’m editing on the computer. It’s made photography feasible again, and most importantly it makes me a safe driver because I can read signs again from afar. Safety first, as my folks would say.

I’m currently rotating between two vintage pairs from Allyn Scura Eyewear. The first one is this pair, the Lumar Mikes in tortoiseshell:

DSC_0312

These are Lumar (Mike) frames, 48/22/140, 5″ 1/2 temples, 5 barrel hinge construction.

DSC_0323

I first heard of Allyn Scura after attending the Rose Bowl Flea Market in Pasadena, CA. The flea market is held there every second Sunday of the month, rain or shine. I picked these up without knowing what proper fit was supposed to be, so they were quite tight at the temples. Luckily they’ve since stretched out a little bit and are more comfortable to wear now.

My second pair from Allyn Scura are these:

DSC_0298

It’s the Frame France № 6010 in smoke, available here. I’m wearing the M size in 48/22/145.

DSC_0319

This is what I wear in most of my pictures. It’s comfortable, but the acetate is thick and heavy so at the end of the day, I do look forward to switching to the lighter Lumar frames.

It’s a small collection thus far, but I’m really happy with them. I would like to add some lighter, thinner frames–preferably in black or dark navy, and perhaps one “funky” frame for the weekends. All in due time.

Leave a Reply

