Piece: Olive Jacket

Well, here’s what I’ve been working on for the past few weeks. I liked the idea that some folks had about showing how to wear an article of clothing repeatedly, so I thought I’d dig around in my closet for said items to feature. Here’s my first from the “Piece” series featuring my beloved olive jacket.

I did seven looks or a week’s worth of outfits. Ideas or variations on a theme are described in the captions below. Let’s get started:

1. Jacket + button down + loafers

IMG_0311
A standard pairing. Nothing too fancy here. Rolled the sleeves up to show off the shirt, but it would probably look better with the forearms showing and just a hint of blue cuff at the elbows.

2. Long sleeved tee shirt under the jacket, tall boots.

IMG_0312
Here the jacket is the main focus up top. Slim pants tuck neatly into the boots, creating a clean silhouette.

3. Button down + cuffed jeans + brogues

IMG_0313
My jeans are a little long on me, so cuffing them helped the pant stack better on top of the shoe. Substitute a low-profile sneaker for a more casual feel.

4. Stripes under olive. Sweatshirt + skirt optional.

IMG_0314
In the future I’ll probably only wear one striped item per outfit but for some reason I thought this would work until I saw the pictures afterward. My loss is your gain. The top looks neat though, so I might do that + jeans some time later.

5. Flowy blouse + maxi skirt

IMG_0315
Easily one of my favorite pair-ups in the bunch. You can see this look sans jacket here. Can’t wait to re-wear this look but probably with more layers for the cool weather.

6. Black dress + leggings + ankle boots (see the look sans jacket here)

IMG_0316
I’d also wear this with the brown boots. All I’d need is a hat and scarf to be cold-proof.

7. Β Black tee + pants

IMG_0317
This is probably the lowest effort out of all the looks, but again another fast favorite. Not much variation here except for the introduction of a brightly colored accessory. I really like this shade of orange with olive green but I’m sure you could do a cobalt blue or even a leopard print bag.

Let me know what you think and if you have other pairing suggestions for the olive jacket. This was a great way to challenge myself to examine my closet and to think more deeply about what I put on myself every day.

For now, it’s back to perch on the thinking couch next to my closet–I’ll be back when the next bolt of inspiration strikes!

2 thoughts on “Piece: Olive Jacket

Leave a Reply

