On the hunt: cold weather

The next two weekends are going to be busy with family, friends, and the national pastime of holiday sales. My previous post was all about keeping a clear focus on what I need for this winter–here I’d like to talk about the actual items I’m hoping to find in the next few weeks.

My list for Winter Shopping 2013:

1. A technical down coat:

DC was cold to me and I envied every woman in a down coat. I’m joining the bandwagon. I tried out some North Face down coats–I am interested in the following below. The Metropolis (knee-length) is $289; the Transit (mid-thigh) is $249. This will ensure I won’t freeze when I go to the East Coast again! My wimpy California wardrobe doesn’t know anything beyond 65F.

Left: Metropolis Parka; right: Transit Jacket. Color: Graphite Gray
Left: Metropolis Parka; right: Transit Jacket. Color: Graphite Gray

2. Β A wool coat

Double-breasted coats look funny on me, so I like the simplicity of these two coats. The Lands End one is currently on sale for $99 this weekend, but I was hoping for a slightly thicker coat (and I’ve been told to look for Thinsulate-lined ones.) Β The more traditional/dressy it skews the better, since I plan on wearing this to work (in the 2 months my cubicle gets no passive heat) and possibly to a wedding later next year. Either way I’ve decided I’d like to have a dressy coat for formal events, and I think I should look into a wool coat.

Left: Lands End Boiled Wool Walker Coat; right: Nordstrom Kristin Blake Single Breasted Lambswool Blend Coat
Left: Lands End Boiled Wool Walker Coat; right: Nordstrom Kristin Blake Single Breasted Lambswool Blend Coat

3. Uniqlo Heattech shirts and leggings

I drank the Heattech Kool-Aid, and I love it. Totally buying more of these to wear as base layers for work:

heattech shirt
Uniqlo’s Heattech V-Neck Tee Shirt

Optional desirable items, if I find a good deal:

Work-appropriate leather shoes.

Left: Naot "Kedma" in chestnut; center: Cole Haan "Allen" bootie; right: Born "Trisha"
Left: Naot “Kedma” in chestnut; center: Cole Haan “Allen” bootie; right: Born “Trisha”

Now to check all the store ads and emails for discounts! Happy hunting everyone!

5 thoughts on “On the hunt: cold weather

  1. Love the simple ,classic design of the walker coats. Ask around/research about the long term durability of the material, especially against clothes moths.

  2. I love all of those shoes. And I really need to bite the bullet and invest in a puffer coat. I hate they way they look, but there are just some weeks that are so bitterly, painfully cold that no amount of layering will help.

    On wool coats, consider Zara. I often get their coats on sale, and I find their tailoring to be very clean, modern and simple, which looks very chic in person. The ones I have are warm, too.

    1. I’ll have to duck into a Zara to look at their offerings. Admittedly I’ve been avoiding them because the one near me is always hectic and full of people diving into piles of clothes. :/

      I lucked out this weekend at an outlet store and got a pair of shoes (Ecco booties) in the middle of my listed price range…I’m test driving it at work today to see if it passes muster. Hoping for the best!

Leave a Reply

