Acquisitions: November 2013

Here’s what snuck into my belongings for the month of November (and as you will shortly see, I have a thing for acquiring orange items.)

DSC_1720 numbers

 

1. Ecco Sculptured GTX Bootie (similar): two weekends ago some friends and I went out to a nearby outlet mall to check it out. I found an Ecco outlet that had this boot in my size. It was comfortable from the get-go and the heel is manageable. Best $160 I’ve spent thus far, and the priciest out of this entire month’s purchases. I’ve already worn it throughout this week and through a spat of rain over Thanksgiving weekend. Worth it!

2. Kipling Adara Medium tote: this was my Black Friday “ooh shiny new thing” purchase. My mother and I have gone to BF for three years straight now, as a sort of bonding-time. There weren’t really any deep sales, but we did enjoy seeing the fall merchandise displays. I saw this in the Macy’s handbag sale section for $52, but initially balked at the price. After I went home that night and researched the market price, I realized it was not too bad and went back the next day for it. It’s going to be my overnight/away bag in my car which will store some emergency clothes in case I decide to stay over somewhere or need more layers. I currently keep my clothes in plastic bags in the trunk. I’m hoping this will be an elegant solution to “now where’s that extra tee-shirt I keep in here?”

3. Carhartt Men’s Acrylic Watch hat: we had a few cold days in a row that had me scrambling to find my head gear. I fished out a Disneyland Stitch beanie (of Lilo and Stitch fame) from my car and felt silly wearing that in and out of work. Granted a bright traffic-cone orange beanie doesn’t make it any less ridiculous to wear into work, but I have had a hankering for orange-colored accessories lately. I will try this look and see if I can incorporate it into my life. It tends to smash my bangs down, which I’m not a fan of. Anyone have tips for dealing with hat hair after beanie usage?

4. Samsonite luggage tags: more orange. My carry-on bag has a tag with my initials on it, but other than that if I were to check my stuff in, I’d have no way of quickly identifying my bag. Problem solved and I get an extra one for a backpack or maybe a larger checked-in suitcase.

I want to say that’s it for orange-colored items for now. 🙂 Did you find anything good during the Black Friday sales? Looking forward to anything specific today (Cyber Monday?) Happy holiday shopping and good luck!

8 thoughts on “Acquisitions: November 2013

    1. Jane, these boots are super comfortable! I’m very happy and I predict wearing the heck out of them within the first month already. The bag has got this subtle shimmer and it even has a snake print of some sort, but it’s not screaming “animal print!” 🙂

  1. Love the kick of colour the beanie will give yah. I’m not too big of a fan of Kipling things in general but I’m glad it works for you 🙂

    1. I’m owning up to my traffic cone status 🙂

      Re: bags
      I really liked my Lesportsac purse but their straps’ stitching started coming undone in a year. My mother helped me reinforce the stitching so I wouldn’t have to buy a new bag (cool!) but I wanted to try a diff. brand this time around.

      I’ve also been checking out Manhattan Portage and Drifter but I want to see their bags in person before I bite.

Leave a Reply

