Parka and plaid

This span of the year is my favorite because I simply do better at dressing myself for cold temperatures. I find it easier to layer than to strategically choose one or two pieces to deal with heat. Here’s my Cyber Monday, day after the holiday excess outfit. I was not in the mood to be fancy (I felt a little bloated from all the desserts) so I opted for comfortable flannel and a cozy parka to wrap myself in.

DSC_0345

Parka: old H&M lightly-quilted olive parka (similar 1, similar 2)
Shirt: JCrew Factory classic buttondown shirt in flannel–heather gray (no longer available, but might still be at Factory stores)
Pants: Target Mossimo ankle-length pants
Shoes: Born Valentina riding boots

The Factory shirt is comfortable, soft, and fits true to size. I picked this particular pattern because it reminds me of my school colors (gray and red.) After years of avoiding that color combination, or anything that resembled a school uniform, I find myself gravitating toward oxford cloth button down shirts and plaid once more.

I don’t believe any of the Factory plaid shirts are still on sale, but you might find a very similar one at JCrew right now. I didn’t get to try that one on, but when I looked at it in store the pattern was quite reminiscent of the Factory one.

Hope you all are staying warm and cozy! (or for those of you for whom it is currently summer, cool and breezy!) What are your favorite cold-weather clothing tips?

3 thoughts on “Parka and plaid

  1. I feel I do better with the cold too. Being able to layer just gives you much more options – I love the parka you have here. I actually tried my best to find one during winter and never found it. Love yours, and can’t wait til H&M finally opens here in 2014 🙂

Leave a Reply

