This weekend MUJI opened to a robust opening day crowd in Los Angeles. After having heard of this brand for the last year or so from friends and online, I was really excited to see their items for myself. I stalked their website for months looking at some promising items like a long-sleeved Breton shirt and some of the wool-blend sweaters, but without any reviews or first-hand knowledge of their sizing, I was hesitant to invest right away. Well, now if I ever have a question, I just have to drive some 30 miles (roughly 50 km?) down to Hollywood to find out for myself.

photo
My friends and I were second in line and we got there at 9 am sharp (10 am opening.) Soon after I snapped this the line started to wrap along the right side wall and out into the uncovered patio area. The security and staff did a good job keeping the walkways free and people seemed to be pretty happy and patient in line.

I don’t have any pictures of the store interior, but here’s a crowd-free photo set from LA Racked that showcases the various products offered at the Hollywood outpost.

photo (1)
All MUJI fall/winter apparel is 50% off from now until the end of the year, or until I imagine they run out of stock.

I made off with the following items below, thanks to the 50% off sale:

Can I just say how much I love the color offerings at MUJI thus far? I’m not a very colorful person (except in my language, perhaps? teehee) so these neutrals are very pleasing to me. I’ve had a secret yearning for something in a gray marled knit ever since I started my coat search and this shawl cardigan soothes that need. It’s got a high percentage of wool, is very soft and not itchy, hangs almost to the knees, and makes me look svelte despite kind of loosely swirling around me. I love it thus far.

I’m also excited to see how the striped shirts/Bretons will work out in my closet. I wore one already this week to work, and it was a nice mid-weight cotton. The MUJI one is cut fairly close to the body, with a not-quite-square or boatneck neckline; it’s somewhere in the middle of those two. Maybe two Bretons is overkill, but they were $20 apiece so I didn’t feel too bad trying them both out.

It will probably take a while before I can report back on the wear and fit of the rest of the clothing since we’re coming up on the holidays. But I’m happy I got to bring back a good amount of their clothing and I look forward to evaluating their performance in my wardrobe in future posts.

7 thoughts on “MUJI Hollywood Opening Day

  1. The shawl cardigan looks versatile – i guess it can be worn for work and play(!). Is it machine washable? Look forward to your posts on how these products stand the test of time and detergent.

    1. Thank you! Yes, the tag doesn’t say anything about handwash or dryclean, so I’m planning to put it in a garment bag on cold gentle cycle. I’ve yet to do that, so I’ll let you know how it goes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

