Double time

The weekend came and went. I don’t think I even blinked and it’s already Tuesday morning–I’ve had much to do at home and at work lately. I consult my phone’s Notes app and calendar almost every day just to keep track of where I’m supposed to go and what to do. It’s been a real lifesaver.

Anyway you’re probably not here to hear me yammer on about my boring days. I did schedule some time to shoot some content for the blog, because I find this to be a creative outlet of sorts. A few months ago I bought this orange Carhartt beanie. I thought it would be vibrant, but not blindingly bright orange. I call it the “traffic cone” to excuse its shocking color to others, but I find myself slowly growing fond of its undeniable presence.

DSC_0780
Case in point: it makes for a nice touch on the otherwise muted colors of olive and black.

Jacket: Bridge and Burn Straat Olive (on sale)
Pants: Gap Always Skinny premium pants– now called “Ultra Skinny
Shoes: Old Puma Speeders (from Zappos in purple/black)

DSC_0772
Olive and orange.

I’m also pretty happy with the way my Bridge and Burn “Straat Olive” jacket is faring. I haven’t worn it much since getting my wool coats, but for the slightly warmer 60-70s temperatures it’s all the layer I need. And I love the functional pockets that let me go purse-less. So this is what it feels like to be a guy! It’s great! Just carrying keys, cash and phone feels so light. I should challenge myself to carry less in my bag sometime.

On Sunday–it was even warmer during the day, but I just wanted something to keep my ears warm. Round 2 on Traffic Cone Duty:

This is about as street as you’ll ever see me. I can’t pull off any more street style than this.

Top: old Men’s Gap sweatshirt
Jeans: Uniqlo Ultra Stretch denim in navy
Shoes: old Nike Lunarglide+ 4

It pleases me now that more often than not I leave the house dressed exactly the way I mean to be seen. Having the right pieces helps and having a defined vision of how I want to present myself is key. I have a slight tomboy side that eschews trends for comfort, and I won’t let that go anytime soon. I am more willing to try more feminine styles now that I’m older, but there’s a part of me that will always want to be ready to play and run and not worry about snagging pretty clothes. And on those days I can run around in pants and jackets like these and still feel true to me.

At the risk of sounding really lame (with shameless self-plug + nice tidy ending,) I’d call that the essence of being Uniformly Dressed.

10 thoughts on “Double time

  1. you pull off street quite well. you look totally cool! and hey, i love your beenie. the orange rocks.

    ps. i had some trouble with commenting (logging into wordpress and such), so if my comments actually registered and you see more than 4 in the queue, i’m sorry. please delete them all except this one 🙂

    1. Thanks for the compliment and headsup, but the commenting seems to be ok!

      I’ve always wanted to take up hiphop (dance) and I’ve just been on this side of too shy/afraid to embarrass self. But it would at least explain drop-crotch pants and fancy kicks if I ever do take up dance.

      Thank you for placating my vanity. It’s making my week, haha!

  2. I actually really love the orange beanie on you. And I think you have totally pulled off this street cool look be it intentionally or unintentionally.

    You are definitely right about how you view your clothing and how it’s nice to go round without worrying about hemlines, awkward heels and shoes which don’t stay on your feet – I actually have quite a few pretty items hanging in my wardrobe but I find myself eschewing them for the useful, practical and comfortable.

    1. Thank you Sue! My inner child delights in this.

      Re: useful, practical, comfortable–this. I had a few mishaps as a teenager in platform flipflops/thongs. Flip-flops are the worst at staying on your feet–they require serious foot gymnastics to stay on while walking! I gave up on “fashion” and bought skater shoes, Jack Purcells, and all manner of tennis shoes for years before college and interviews for work forced me to consider something other than rubber-soled shoes. I like where I am now–I want to try heels, but only very comfortable, well-made ones. And I’d rather take my time to find that pair rather than own five that don’t make the cut.

  3. Oh wow, I love the orange hat, especially with the olive jacket and the long long hair. And I agree about the feeling you get when your wardrobe comes together the way you intended. On those days I feel so confident.

    1. Thank you Valerie! It took a while to get my wardrobe in semi-working order, but I feel like I’m getting close. Need more of these “hell yes, I like how I look” days; they’re fun!

  4. I really like the orange hat – it sort of kicks everything up a notch. Also, kudos on the whole dressing exactly the way you mean to be seen. It’s often a fleeting feeling for most, so it’s nice to see you’ve been able to sustain it!

Leave a Reply

