A Day on Broadway

Occasionally I do things, and one of them is photography. I love taking pictures. That’s in part why I started Uniformly Dressed–a natural mashup of my two favorites–self-portraits and the evolution of my style. In my non-blogging hours I like to get out of the house on the weekends and wander around Southern California. Last month I went to an event hosted by the Los Angeles Historical Theatre Foundation called “A Day on Broadway.” The group worked with the local LA City Council and the rest of the businesses on Broadway to showcase the theatre district and its rich history. I spent the day running in and out of the many historical theatres in Los Angeles which were usually closed to public access. Here’s some pictures from my trip!

When I get into downtown LA, my first stop is always at the Bradbury Building. It’s one of the buildings featured in the movie “500 Days of Summer,” which I have not yet seen. I just like coming here to look at the interior and sometimes I’ll just sit on the steps and look up at the ceiling.

DSC_1914

Across the street from the Bradbury Building is Grand Central Market, which sells produce, meat, cheese, and also has stalls selling food, coffee, ice cream, and various supplies.

DSC_1917

Cheese shop!

DSC_1921

This is the line for Eggslut, the place where I got this lovely creation:

IMG_5523

This, my friends, is the Avo Burger from Eggslut. Runny over-easy egg + avocado, Tillamook cheddar cheese on a 1/3 lb beef patty, sandwiched between a toasted brioche bun. $9. No need for additional sauce. Just this and a cold can of Coke. I waited in line for this about 20 minutes; it’s worth the wait.

DSC_1908

Grand Central Market is also right next to Angels Flight (a short railway system) that you can take to get up to Bunker Hill (where the tall buildings rise.) It was a nice day to be out and about in LA–the weather was like spring despite it being January.

After lunch I began my tour of the different theatres. I was able to visit five; the sixth one was the Tower Theatre which was closed that day for filming.

Million Dollar Theatre, 1918

 

It became known as Grauman’s Million Dollar Theatre after hype surrounding the exorbitant construction costs. Architect: William Lee Woollett; Spanish Rococo style: Churrigueresque.

Palace Theatre, 1911

Fun fact: the Palace Theatre was designed as a vaudeville house without amplified sound. It was designed so that no seat is further than 80 ft from the stage. Architect: G. Albert Lansburgh

Los Angeles Theatre, 1931

Architect: S. Charles Lee; Baroque style. In my opinion this was one of the most well-preserved and beautiful of the theatres I saw that day. The ceiling is just amazing.

Globe Theatre, 1913

Not all the theatres are in good condition. The Globe Theatre’s future is unknown, but as you see it here, the area where the seats used to be is all filled up with concrete, and little of the architecture of the theatre remains. It’s being rented out right now as a studio location, like much of the other shuttered theatres on Broadway.

Orpheum Theatre, 1926

Still in use as a concert venue and filming location. I actually saw Iron and Wine here last yearΒ and it was quite nice. When I went to see the show I didn’t have much time to go around and photograph the place. It was nice to have the time to sit and admire all the details with the house fully lit.

I had a really fun day last month. I can’t wait to catch a show at the other theatres someday–to actually go and see it in action πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “A Day on Broadway

    1. They really are. I’m gonna keep an eye out for events there and hopefully I can go in as a patron; it would be so nice to see it up and running for a show.

      Oh, and that Avo Burger is calling me! 20 minute wait, but worth it IMO. If you’re ever in Los Angeles, it’s a worthy stop πŸ™‚

  1. These pictures are really interesting! Ah the Bradbury Building was the one in Blade Runner, right? I can’t believe there’s a place called Eggslut, haha.

    1. Yes! There’s a whole poster board explaining Blade Runner in the building, but I haven’t seen that movie either πŸ™‚

      I thought the name was gimmicky at first too, but they do an eggs-cellent job with the medium so I’ll allow it. -_- /puns

  2. We’ll be back in LA for another wedding in September, and I need to remember to visit that building. I should start researching architecture tours now. And compiling another food list to be topped by Eggslut.

    1. Hooray! Most of the food places in Grand Central Market are really good–if you like kabobs/koobideh there’s a solid little Persian take out place in that building πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

