Uniqlo x Ines de la Fressange

Over the weekend I got an email about a new collection that Uniqlo will be releasing this spring. It is a collaboration collection with Ines de la Fressange, former model and now artistic director of her eponymous line. It is slated to be released starting March 17 and throughout until May 2014. It is French-influenced in that the clothes are almost androgynous in their simplicity, but retain an easy femininity; the dresses flow and hug curves but seem un-fussy, and there are oxford shirts and light linen and silk shirts to last for days. Here are a few pieces I’m excited to see:

Left: Oxford Long Sleeve Shirt from the Petite Parisienne collection; Cotton Chambray Long Sleeve Shirt from the Bleu, Blanc, ParisienneΒ collection.

I probably don’t really need any more button-downs but I’m hunting for an oversized white one and I just like the cool blue of the chambray.

Left: Soutien Collar Coat, right: Linen Cotton Long Sleeve Long Jacket.

I like that the linen jacket almost looks like a shirtdress, and that soutien collar coat is reminiscent of a trench coat but isn’t double breasted.

idlfrayonwrapdress
Rayon Wrap Dress

I’m excited about this dress. It’s been a while since I’ve tried a wrap-style dress and I remember feeling the need to wear Spanx just to smooth out the hip/stomach area. I hope this dress can look good without supportive garments because that’s another purchase just to make a dress work.

You can view the rest of the lineup here. Tell me what you think. Have you got any favorites you want to see?

12 thoughts on “Uniqlo x Ines de la Fressange

  1. Sigh, I don’t think I’ll be anywhere with a Uniqlo for the rest of the year! The linen long jacket looks interesting, I wonder if you could just wear it as a shirt dress.

    1. I had the same idea as you, Jane. If it’s thin enough and the seams aren’t irritating to the skin I’d definitely consider wearing it with a tank top and hot pants or a slip.

    1. Rayon will definitely be a delicate-care item. I don’t think they posted the care instructions for it online yet, but I hope it’s hand-wash or machine washable.

  2. It’s interesting how these store make collaborations with presigious names of the fashion industry like that. The style of InΓ¨s de la Fressange goes well with the Uniqlo aesthetics, but it’s the kind of piece I need to see (and wear) for myself. It sounds like the kind of piece to be sold out instantly though πŸ™‚

    1. Admittedly I’d never heard of her before the collaboration. Her collection is pretty swoon-worthy though; I see a lot of things I want to try on (like you said, it’s gonna depend on how it looks on us–a lot of the dresses seem to run long/midi length and we’re petite.)

      It’s probably better for my wallet if it sells out quickly–mitigate the damage πŸ˜€

  3. Wow I am so excited about this – it looks great! I especially love the white cotton oxford shirt and the navy cotton jacket. Not sure if we’re getting it online in the UK though 😦 boo hoo xx

    1. I hope US gets it–did you guys not get the email campaign? I assume if I got one they’re aiming to launch it in this market. I hope.

      There’s two types of navy cotton jacket–there’s the 3/4 length, long sleeved and the full one which I posted here…I like both, but like Jane said in the earlier comments it might be interesting to wear the full one as a shirt dress if the fabric thickness is just right.

      If you click on over to the collection on the website you’ll also see that there’s two black wrap dresses slated to be released–a rayon one that looks knee length and a slinkier jersey midi-length one. I wonder why Uniqlo x IDLF would release two very similar dresses. It’s been a while since I’ve tried a wrap dress; I hope I’ll look more sophisticated in it than matronly.

  4. oh wow, upgraded basics – one day we might even be able to get them here. sigh! actually there’s a uniqlo opening in melbourne this month, australia’s first, a bit far away to shop though! fingers crossed for some kind of online retail thing.. i have my eye on that patchy denim shirt!

    1. I’m glad you will be getting a physical store; hopefully the online presence in Australia will launch soon. I know the parent company of Uniqlo (Fast Retailing) is really looking forward to its expansion in the West–we just have to be patient as they rollout new stores. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

