Nowhere but here

I’ve been feeling strange lately.

I feel restless, like I’m supposed to be somewhere or go someplace, and I haven’t gone yet.

Last week, I typed up a note to myself–“I want to throw myself out the house and into the outdoors. I want to climb things.” Yesterday I suppose my body knew more than my mind, because I woke up at 6:30 am–eyes just opened, no jarring alarm blaring. I got dressed and drove out before I even really decided where to go: beach or the hills? We’ve been having great summer-like weather in our area, so I decided to avoid the crush that would inevitably descend the beaches and I headed for the rocks.

image
More than enough surfaces to climb.

To get up here was less than a half-mile. You can walk along the top of the hill for about another 0.40 mile before it slopes down into brush. I didn’t opt to go further at that point because my back started to hurt. Running is starting to put pressure on my knees and hips, so I’m trying to be careful of how much I push myself during other exercise.

It’s not the highest peak in the city, but it was enough to feel like a small escape from everyone and most things. I took some pictures. I left my phone on shuffle and it picked out some funny songs. A group of hikers passed me by, confidently weaving their way through the loose dirt. I was gingerly tiptoeing around the rocks and in some cases I just crawled my way down. I rationalized it by saying I’d rather look like an idiot than go home with scrapes and bruises. It felt good to be up high. A literal change in perspective helped and by the time I left I felt a little calmer and more tranquil than I had been all week.

DSC_2205

I feel much better after having gone on the hike. I want to do more of this–when you write something down, it’s more likely to happen because it’s a step in admitting the need (to climb) and committing the steps necessary (waking up early, driving out, actually hiking) to accomplishing the goal.

Now if only the rest of the week could go as peacefully! Here’s to cautious hope!

15 thoughts on “Nowhere but here

  1. Great cardio, for the body and the soul. The pictures capture the beautiful clear day that it was. You look strong and fit , carry on!

  2. That sounds like a perfect day! When I was a child there was some sort of rocky mini-mountain within walking range (maybe 30mn from home?), and we used to hike over there on week-ends with my family. I loved these afternoons. I hope you enjoyed your hike, and that there will be many more to come ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I know what you mean by restless, I’ve been feeling that way too. This looks like a great way to spend the day, I’ve got to find something like this to do!

    1. If there’s a harbor/docks/pier near you, I like going in the early mornings to just listen to the water. At some of the beaches near me, only the people doing deep-sea fishing are up and you can see their boats far in the distance.

      I used to wake up and go with my dad who likes to sit on the pier. We’d get donuts and breakfast sandwiches and just watch everyone else.

      Some fine weekend I’ll head on over to the waters. There’s something comforting about old pastimes especially in these times.

      1. I live close to the beach and I definitely don’t take advantage of that enough. I’ve never been in the early morning, I reckon I’ll give that a go – just need to fix up my sleep cycle!

  4. I’ve been getting that restless feeling, too. If the weather is nice, I surely have to work all hours of the day, and if I have time off, of course it snows. My husband got to spend some time hiking at Point Lobos this weekend, and now I’m jealous of you both!

    1. I hope you get a little break in the bad weather if not this weekend then the next! I have a three-day weekend coming up and I need to make plans aplenty.

  5. Where you live is absolutely beautiful! I’m infinitely jealous right now and happy you were able to scratch your restlessness itch!

    1. Thank you so much! It’s got its own charms despite the strong suburban influence.

      Girl, you’re in DC and the cultural wealth you have in one tiny city is worth millions. I guess we crave what we do not have, but when I visited your area I was infinitely jealous of all your free parks, gardens, and museums ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Oh! I was only in DC for the summer and man do I miss it! I actually go to school in Missouri so that’s pretty much where I’ve lived for the past 4 years.

  6. how nice to have the great outdoors not too far away. living in sydney’s a bit like that too – aren’t we lucky! i went for a 10k hike a few weekends ago and came back feeling much more energised so i totally get what you mean. it’s really pretty where you are.. i’ve got joshua tree on my ‘one day’ list. how far is that from you? ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I’ve been thinking about Joshua Tree! It’s about 2 hours away from where I live, so it’s a doable day trip. I actually asked my friends who go often because your comment reminded me of it.

      I think I saw your hike posts from a few weeks back. Australia must have its own dramatic sights!

      1. that’s pretty doable! and you should go one weekend ๐Ÿ˜‰ i saw some photos from fashiontoast.com a while back, looked amazing – what a backdrop! yeah we do have some amazing landscapes around here too, but it has been weirdly expensive to travel within australia itself as it’s such a big country.. the outback is really nice tho ๐Ÿ˜‰

      2. I know! I want to go, but it’s been a while since I’ve gone so I want to go with some more experienced outdoorsy friends.

        There’s a bunch of really neat sites about 2-3 hours from my area, but I’m just a little nervous about heading out sans adventure partner.

Leave a Reply

