Encore noir

Here are March’s acquisitions: more black, Kristina? Of course! It’s easy to wear, hides food spills, and I look chic with minimal effort. Sold.

After a harrowed weekend wondering where my package went (and subsequently realizing that the Fedex guy stuffed it above my door on a ledge between the patio roof and the wall) I finally got my Ines de la Fressange wrap dress (see from earlier this month.) I am too impatient to share it so pardon the wrinkles; it is an amazing dress and I won’t lie, I might have pranced around the house in glee for a half-hour. Or so.

Dress: Uniqlo x Ines de la Fressange Rayon Wrap Dress
Shoes: Ecco Sculptured 75 Shoetie

I’m generally a Medium in most Uniqlo items; I just went with the bust measurements provided on the sizing chart. The fabric is 100% rayon and it says it’s machine washable cold, gentle cycle, line dry, cool iron. I just washed it last night and there doesn’t seem to be any shrinkage, but only time will tell once I start putting wear on it.

The shoes are a pair of booties I’ve been drooling over for the last few months. They are from the same line as my shoes from November 2013. Try the Ecco Sculptured line if you want something comfortable and long-wearing. These heels (3′) are the highest I’ve ever worn for a whole day straight–my calves are sore but my feet are relatively ok; no pinching or heel pain. Luckily my work is pretty sedentary–I think I’d tire easily if I had to be on my feet in these the whole day, but for the majority of the time I stay seated so it hasn’t been an issue. They’re lovely leather shoes and I look forward to years of outfits with them.

Let me just get back to the dress. It is amazing, from the little I’ve seen. There’s two slits at the sides so you can wrap the dress on you however you like (there’s only really one way, either right flap on top or left.) The ties are long enough to double up on, but I just did one cross over and tied a simple bow on my left side. The rayon is soft and doesn’t seem staticky. My only gripe is with the 3/4 sleeves which I promptly rolled up past my elbow. I might get the sleeves shortened just because a 3/4 sleeve length makes me look stubby.

DSC_0533
Wrinkly, but happy.

I really wanted to shoot this dress in another location, but it’s got me too excited to share with all of you. I’m waiting until it gets warm again so I can test-drive this very outfit for work or play. As it is, it’s good to have some time to get the sleeves done so I don’t keep re-rolling them throughout the day.

As long as the rayon doesn’t shrink, I think it’s a great basic black dress. What do you think of the length–should I have it raised a tiny bit to hit right at or an inch or two above the knee?

17 thoughts on “Encore noir

  1. Actually I love that dress on you. I went back on the Uniqlo site to to have another look at it and I think it looks edgier and more contemporary the way you’ve worn it than it does on the website model who make it look like a work dress. But the sleeves – strangely enough, they sell themselves to me because of the length – I’m always lamenting that sleeves are not cut long enough. I think if they are too short, they cut me off where my arms are at their fattest.

    And you are looking lovely and slim Kristina – all that running is doing its job!

    1. Thank you Sue.

      I think it’s the black talking to you that way–the shade blue they have on the site is very mousy. If it had been a richer, deep navy I would have considered it too. And the boots are more modern as well. I’m actually debating getting some suede/cork/natural colored sandals to summer up this dress.

      I’m glad you said that re: sleeves πŸ™‚ If unrolled, the sleeve will hit us mid-forearm (I imagine we probably have about similar arm lengths.) To me, that constrains movement, so I always hike up my sleeves.

      Thank you very much for the lovely compliment. I am buffeted and encouraged by your words.

    1. Hmm, maybe I’ll get it tailored WITH a cuff! Excellent idea, Valerie πŸ™‚ Left unfolded, the sleeve comes to about mid-forearm, about 3 inches from my wrist.

  2. Looks great. I think it would look even better if you got it hemmed to hit just above the knee. Tim Gunn always goes on about dressed in thirds and I have to agree. Two thirds dress, one third sexy lady legs!

  3. The dress really looks lovely and flatters your silhouette, you’ve put your paws on a great basic here πŸ™‚ I haven’t checked if the collection is on sale in Paris, but if it is I’ll definitely go and try it on.

    As for the length of the dress, you seem to be wearing it very well at that length. I know from my personal experience that I would shorten it to just above the knee, but that’s because I have short legs and rather muscular calves so this length doesn’t suit me well. What you could do is test a shorter length in front of the mirror (holding it with pins for example) and see how it looks on you before making any alterations.

    1. Edit: I just checked Uniqlo’s French website, and it seems they are opening a new shop in my favourite neighborhood, le Marais, in April, and they specifically say that the Ines de la Fressange collection will be available at the opening. It seems they have chosen a beautiful location for that new shop too. I’ll go take a look, and there will probably be some instagramming involved πŸ˜‰

      1. Please do! I look forward to hearing what you think of the collection! The wrap dress is washed (machine wash gentle, cold) and it seems to be fitting ok. Haven’t yet test-driven it because it’s been cool/about to rain in our area. Warmer weather will come soon enough.

  4. Hi Kristina. What a lovely dress! It suits you very well. Personally, I wouldn’t get it shortened past the knee for fear of it looking too casual for work. Obviously this doesn’t take into account what you prefer or find suits your figure, it already looks great πŸ˜‰

    I’ve been a silent reader on your blog – thank you for the lovely posts.

    1. Thank you for delurking and welcome! I hope you’re enjoying the blog. I think for now I’ll see how this current length feels. Thank you so much for reading πŸ™‚

  5. This is such a lovely dress, it suits you really well! For what it’s worth, I like the length it’s at right now – it looks really elegant like this πŸ™‚

  6. that dress looks lovely on you! i don’t mind this length on you but if you were to get it taken up i wouldn’t go past the knee either. the current midi length is quite understated and chic. totally agree with the sleeves – i find 3/4 sleeves quite restrictive too, maybe they only really work on people with really skinny arms but i often have that problem where they’re too tight up the upper arms, getting them shortened and cuff sounds like a good solution!

    1. Thanks Steph. I think I really am leaning toward keeping the length–it makes the dress more versatile and it’s nice to be covered every once in a while too πŸ™‚

      I guess I should go see my tailor this weekend. Good plans.

Leave a Reply

