Allocating resources

Bear with me as I logic my way through this story of mine; it’s been bouncing around in my brain for some days and I want to sound it out. Lately I’ve been on a big push in my life overall–traveling, doing new things like bouldering, and running a (5K) race for the first time. I believe these are all very good for me, and eventually they will make me a better person by making me stronger, faster, and mentally more capable. They all require determination, dedication, and discipline. They also require two other things that I’d like to talk about today: those are time and effort.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how I invest my time and/or effort into areas of my life. I’ve dedicated a huge chunk to health and fitness as of late, because I believe a good physical foundation will enable me to do the other things I want to do (travel, shoot photographs) a lot easier. I also have been thinking about how I invest time and effort in people, in creating/maintaining friendships and other relationships. Last week was a personal milestone that I’d like to share with you today.

I have the wonderful opportunity to befriend a few of you via blogging, and last week I had the pleasure of meeting one such lady in person. Last week I met up with Kali of The Nife En L’Air while she was visiting in Los Angeles, CA. Thankfully the weather, the times, and everything aligned to have a magnificent day. Here’s some shots from when we wandered around Downtown Los Angeles:

I tried some new food at Grand Central Market–Berlin Currywurst had a delicious sounding leberkäse sandwich. The folks at the shop told me it had veal and pork in it; it was a lot of food for $7! Very filling and the grilled onions and sauerkraut went well with it.

Kali’s pork cochinita from Belcampo Meat. Co. looked equally appetizing. I’ll have to go back there to check out more of their plates. They have a breakfast and lunch spread that changes at around 12:30–the pork cochinita was a morning meal. I got some beef tallow fries from them that were good, but could have been crispier/fresher. Maybe I didn’t eat them fast enough. At any rate, I want to go back because I did see they advertised a pulled lamb belly sandwich. 🙂 🙂

After our decadent meal, it was time to get some movement in. Luckily, downtown Los Angeles is full of sights within meters. I love showing people the Bradbury Building; it is by far one of my favorite architectural sites in LA.

This building is currently in use by several public agencies as well as some private firms. The first floor and part of the staircase to the second floor is open to the public, but only tenants may go up to the second and third floors. The Bradbury Building is also one of the stops on the L.A. Conservancy‘s walking tours (specifically the Historic Downtown tour) so if you are near Los Angeles and are interested in architecture and history, I highly recommend any of their tours.

Our next stop was the Last Bookstore, which is very close to the Bradbury (less than half a mile away!) I think I lost Kali here completely–what do you expect when you bring a bibliophile to a place literally made of books? The Last Bookstore is both an art installation and a bookstore and event venue in all one package. Half of the second floor of the bookstore space is an art gallery with several mini-galleries inside, and the rest of the shop has installations and paintings and works from local artists. Pictured is the book arch on the second floor of the shop. I was here not too long ago, but it’s a place I could easily return to multiple times. I don’t read as much as I ought to, but I could see myself holing up with some graphic novels on one of the couches there.

Unfortunately we didn’t have too much time to see the rest of the places I had bookmarked for us, so we ran through the Arts District quickly for some tea for Kali and a pastry for me. If I had more time I would have coordinated a better selfie 😀

IMG_7573
Proof!

I don’t really have a big lesson to be derived from my musings today–I just want to remark that the fact that this meeting even occurred was an investment of time and effort on both our parts (and thank you so much Kali for meeting up with me, as I know your time was quite full here in LA!) For me for whom making new connections is not without trepidation, I feel so humbled and lucky to have met someone kind, engaging, and open to adventure. I also feel happy to have shown someone (and indirectly those of you reading) my California–a place I am very proud to be a part of.

Thank you Kali for allowing me to share this experience with you, and thank you all for reading and engaging with me. I’d like to know if you’ve experienced something similar–in general, how do you find yourself allocating your time? What parts of your life have you tended to focus on or that are demanding more of your effort at present?

11 thoughts on “Allocating resources

  1. Such a sweet post! I wish I was there to meet you awesome ladies. Meeting up with other bloggers is the BEST thing ever. You never run out of things to talk about because you all like the same things.

    1. Because me going to France is going to take a while. There’s no excuse especially if you will be in my neck of the woods! Just drop a line and I’ll try my best to scramble over.

  2. That is so great to relive the day once more through your wonderful writing and pictures! I’m also finding myself allocating more time to both self development and more openness and engagement with other people, and that meet-up was quite a milestone for (introvert) me as well 🙂 Thank you so much for offering, and for dedicating some time to show me your version of LA. I think this was a unique experience I would never have enjoyed the same way by myself.

    And I agree with Joy, it’s fantastic to befriend and meet fellow bloggers as we have a lot of common tastes (which is why we connected online in the first place). It was fantastic to meet such a wonderful person as you Kristina, and I hope this first time isn’t the last 🙂 I’ll see if I can find worthy pictures from my iPhone (still banging my head over forgetting my DSLR camera!) and put together a post as well – California with a “tourist on business trip” eye 🙂

    1. You’re very welcome. I think we could all talk each others’ ears off when we do get together. I hope to see you again as well, Kali, and I do want to reiterate that should any of you find yourselves wandering into LA/Southern California, let me know!

  3. Aw this is a lovely post! Sounds like you guys had a nice time. I haven’t met up with other bloggers before, the idea of it makes me a bit nervous because I can’t help but think how awkward it has the potential to be! Haha.

    1. We did! It was super nice and I think if we both had more time there would have been some MAJOR shopping. As it was I did get to show Kali some boutiques I liked in DTLA/Arts District, but it was more of a “this is cool, look at this ahhh”

      Omg you guys live too far from me. Seriously.

    1. It was nerve-wracking until I realized we could talk about a LOT of things because hey, we blog about mostly the same stuff, so there was tons to talk about after all.

      It’s always the initial nervousness, but then Kali’s super cool so that got over quickly 🙂

  4. ha that sounds fun, especially for someone who’s new to the city. one of my favourite things to do is show people around the best coffee/food here, if not in person at the very least in a long email! i think it’s natural to just want to share what you’re passionate about.. and if you ever come this way i’d be more than happy to give you a (food) tour 🙂 the bookstore is insane, i can’t get over that arch!

    1. When I do get to Australia I will definitely say hello! And food! How could I say no to food.

      I sometimes think they drug the people in California to think it’s the #bestever. Traffic sucks super bad in LA, but it’s almost part of the experience. 😀

Leave a Reply

