Uniqlo Pop-up at South Coast Plaza

20140710-074038-27638104.jpg

Uniqlo and its ultra-affordable, clean and polished basics finally arrive in Orange County and the rest of Southern California! I am as happy as a clam. The pop-up store opened in South Coast Plaza on July 3, on the first floor near the carousel. The pop-up will stay open until August 10, and then the full-fledged store (first floor near Sears and Forever 21) will have its grand opening on September 5.

Interior:

20140710-074035-27635638.jpg
Proudly displaying Ultra Stretch Denim, the Supima cotton tees, oxford shirts, and Ultra Light Down.

The store is small and the staff have chosen to dedicate the space to the following items: Ultra Light Down, leggings pants, Ultra Stretch Denim, oxford shirts, Supima tees, sweatshirts and sweat pants, and AIRism. I personally think that there’s a little too much Ultra Light Down for the currently warm SoCal weather, but my friend told me that displaying it might still work for people who might work/travel somewhere cooler and want to shop for some layers before heading over. If it were me I would have brought over some of the linen shirting and/or the chino shorts which I believe would be more useful for the immediate weather. Ah well. I am just a fan who likes to peanut-gallery. At any rate I’m just happy they’re finally here!

20140710-074036-27636425.jpg
Men’s oxford shirts, sweat pants, and Ultra Light Down. Didn’t see where the gray sweaters were stashed though.

Not photographed is the UT/Uniqlo graphic tee selections with their current promo of being able to design and print onto a blank tee via their iPad app. I’m not too big into graphic tees, but Pharrell’s “The Same is Lame” collection was in stock as well as tees from Tom and Jerry, Disney, and Marvel.

20140710-074149-27709745.jpg

I was looking forward to trying on some AIRism tanks. For some reason I was so focused on denim during my trip to SF that I completely skipped over trying AIRism (I think I did try on their v-neck tee and found it too sheer for what I wanted it to do.) But now that it is solidly summer, I’ve wanted a light, form-fitting tank top to wear as a layer or on its own. I figured I had much success with Heattech, so why not try its summer time cousin?

20140710-074037-27637152.jpg
I love this mirror for making me look buffer and skinnier than I really am. Thanks tilted mirror and iPhone distortion for the ego boost.

Here’s the spaghetti-strap tank version on me. I’m wearing a S. It’s good for tucking into pants and skirts. I eventually got the non-strappy version (I’m wearing it in thisΒ selfie) in XS because the shoulder/upper body area was a bit loose and droopy in the S. Since the AIRism tanks are packaged, I was told they’d be final sale, so I made sure to examine the fit before making my decisions. At this point, my Medium Heattech shirts have been quite loose, so I’m a little more confident that sizing down two sizes should be correct for the body I have now.

A note on the AIRism fabric: it’s very smooth and close-fitting (reminds me of a more cotton-like Spandex.) I haven’t had time to see how it looks post-wash, but I will be washing it cold and air drying like I do my Heattech. The Heattech pilled in a few areas, but nothing too terrible. Both AIRism and Heattech are a bit on the sheer side, so wear appropriately-colored underwear (or not, if you want that whole high-contrast look, haha.) If it’s not stretched too much, the darker colors aren’t as sheer as white or nude. I’d only wear this as a single layer casually or during the summer when wearing sheer fabrics is a little more forgivable.

I really can’t wait for the main store to open! I may have already bought more than I expected to, especially given my previous post on buying less and buying smarter. I’ll detail that in a later post, but otherwise hooray! Welcome to Southern California, Uniqlo πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Uniqlo Pop-up at South Coast Plaza

    1. That’s how I felt trekking from OC/LA to SF. I had one chance per year to try stuff on and the rest would be carefully ordered online! Hopefully they will have a great reception down in our area πŸ™‚

  1. Looks similar to what the Sydney pop-up is carrying right now! They’re finally opening here just as I’ve decided not to buy any more clothes, haha, but it’s good to know that I can get replacements for my favourite jeans or button downs if I need to (plus they haven’t inflated the prices much which usually happens in Aus!).

  2. That looks geat! Uniqlo are very good with in-store decorations indeed. I agree with you with the kind of off-season choice of clothes though, but I feel like it’s general in the fashion stores: aren’t they always selling what we will wear a couple of months from now? Uniqlo is a mine for good, low cost basics though. I think I’ve never been able to come out of one empty handed. You must be eagerly waiting for the opening of the actual, final store πŸ™‚

    1. I AM super excited for the big opening. I’ll have to see what the upcoming product lines will be so I can make a battle plan πŸ˜€ As for Ultra Light Down, I’ll save purchasing that for when I actually live in an area that would warrant it. The grass is always greener on the other side though so I guess I should be glad I never have to shovel my car out of the snow. πŸ˜›

    1. I hope so! Then hopefully shopping won’t require a 406-mile drive (that’s how far the SF one is for me!) or a plane ride for most of us. The returns were the worst part–it took them almost a month to receive and process a pair of jeans I returned 😦

  3. funnily enough sydney has a popup store too, until the actual store opens.. soon. i’ve just only noticed someone mentioned this here too πŸ™‚

    i have 4 heattech tops i rotate almost daily in winter and they’ve all held up with weekly washing and machine-drying. if airism is anything like it i need to have another look!

    1. That would be Jane, I believe πŸ™‚

      I have yet to wash the AIRism top (I know, I’m dragging on laundry this week) but I suspect it should be very much like the Heattech. Oh, and it has stretched out some from repeated wear, so there’s that. I will be back with a wash update on the top for anyone who’d care to know πŸ˜€

  4. I am definitely envious, no Uniqlo in my country, and even the online store doesn’t ship here. I’m making mental notes on size and fit and quality of different styles though, just in case one day they decide that they want my money after all πŸ™‚

    1. Oh no 😦 I can attest to most of the quality of the Uniqlo stuff. My closet is now 30% filled with Uniqlo and increasing; it’s a very good alternative to Gap and JCrew which used to be my mainstays. I hope one day the brand gets to your part of Europe!

Leave a Reply

