Translation

Remember how I said I would try to buy less and buy smarter for the summer? It seems that my crop-topping, monochrome-whispering muse is up to no good. It started with this grayscale ensemble Stephanie put together that my subconscious chewed on for a few weeks, and then a serendipitous Zara sale that brought the black version of that cropped sweater down to $9.99. Then Uniqlo’s popup opened at South Coast Plaza over Fourth of July weekend, and I found myself mentally arguing the purchase of an AIRism tank top. Ach. I did not win. Last weekend I was running around downtown Long Beach dressed thusly:

DSC_0729

Top: Zara cropped sweater
Tank: Uniqlo AIRism sleeveless top
Pants: Uniqlo Ultra Stretch ankle length jeans
Shoes: Gentle Souls by Kenneth Cole Gabby ballet flats

I’m enjoying interpreting the looks I see online (*cough*Tumblr*cough*) into real life wear. I think at the core of all this blogging and ruminations, I just really want to play and share what I’m doing. Putting myself together used to be a chore, and I’m not quite good at the entire process yet, but it’s coming along nicely. I especially like this ensemble because in my opinion it’s a very quiet sort of blend-in ninja, make-no-waves look that suits my general resting mood.

DSC_0747
I really like this whole outfit. I feel like it’s an all-seasons look with some changes in footwear and base layers. Also hooray for cooperative hair days.

I know quite a few of us turn to sources online and in print for inspiration. What are your favorite sources? Have you ever tried to copy a look off a picture or a magazine, and how was your experience?

11 thoughts on “Translation

  1. Oh thanks for the love πŸ™‚ I really like this look on you too, I think it has something to do with the length of your hair as well that really brings it together for me – and the strap on your shoes are a nice detail!

    1. Thanks Steph! That dang strap on my foot is giving me epic awkward foot tan. I guess that’s fashion for ya!

      I didn’t even see the hair/sweater crop correlation till you pointed it out! πŸ™‚

      1. OMG yeah i’m still trying to wear off my birk tan. haha! maybe some sunscreen would help… πŸ™‚ yeah totally envying that hair, wish i had the patience to grow mine out! πŸ™‚

  2. Very nice outfit! I have never tried to integrate cropped tops in my outfits myself but I have to admit it comes together very well on you! I have ‘translated’ many outfits from inspirations when I first started style searching. Now that I have a better idea of what I feel comfortable in, I tend to translate parts of inspirational outfits – for example a specific colour combination or length detail… I find it to be a great way to learn and be more creative πŸ™‚

  3. I like how you’re wearing the crop! Do you find that the Airism stuff does what it says? I find it a bit counter-intuitive that wearing more layers will make me cooler, haha.

    I use my pinterest for style inspiration, usually something more like “hmm would it look weird if i wore docs with a long coat” rather than copying an outfit directly.

    1. Thanks Jane! I definitely wouldn’t leave the sweater on if I were walking around under the sun. I did wear just the AIRism top out a few times on its own and I feel like it did a good job of being airy (ha) despite being close-fitting…does that make sense? I walk during my breaks at work and I didn’t feel as sticky in it during and post-walk as I would if I’d worn a cotton tank top.

      Here was my inspiration: I did follow it almost closely, but I am not particularly enamored with the wash on the jeans: http://static.zara.net/photos//2014/V/0/1/p/1509/102/800/2/w/1024/1509102800_1_1_1.jpg?timestamp=1392833116221

  4. I like the proportions of the cropped sweater with your jeans – very nice! I’ve given crop tops a try in the dressing room but never pulled the trigger… something about having my stomach exposed to the elements just feels weird to me (not due to modesty though). Even with a tank top underneath… I think it’s just one of those irrational things haha. P.S. I agree with Steph – your hair length/color helps tie things together… maybe it’s because your hair helps create a continuous line for the eye?

    As far as my sources of inspiration are concerned, i I’d say it’s mostly online store look books and catalogues (ex: Totokaelo, Kate Spade Saturday), Pinterest, and Instagram/blogs, since I don’t read (or rather don’t want to pay for) magazines and rarely keep up with designers. I’m slightly obsessed with Pinterest because I can keep track of/organize everything (and follow my favorite bloggers to glean from them) without having to wade through a million tumblr posts. In the past I’d have said Tumblr is where I get the bulk of my inspiration, but lately the vast majority of the people I follow have nothing to do with fashion, and the style related things they do post aren’t my taste. However, like Kali I don’t think I’ve attempted to copy a look in quite some time. I usually use inspiration to help me plan the *vibe* of future purchases and to visualize how they’ll look with my current style/wardrobe (or simply to bookmark things I want in the future – the most dangerous kind of inspiration!). Although that doesn’t mean I don’t frequently oggle over a ***flawless outfit, haha.

    1. The belly button (for me) has to be covered, idk why, but ribcage, ay-okay, belly button veers too close to my pudge haha!

      It’s funny, I used to be more active on Pinterest, but they had this sponsored pin shenanigans that put me off using the site! Is there any way to turn that off completely?

      1. I don’t know if there’s a way to turn it off, but I think they may have laid off of it a bit? I don’t see them nearly as much as before (I actually don’t remember seeing any in a while). Maybe enough people complained that they stopped.

        I also just clicked “I don’t like this” for every ad I saw, so maybe that helped? I honestly stopped noticing them, and didn’t realize they were pretty much gone until you pointed it out.

      2. I’ll have to check on it sometime and see if the related pins are still popping up for me. Pinterest has better organizational structure than Tumblr, but right now I’m somewhat enthralled with the Korean fashion/”ulzzang” trends that are so prevalent on Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

