Happy first birthday, Uniformly Dressed!

Last year I had a desire to write and exercise my photographic hobby to produce a tangible body of “work.” I’ve learned a lot from the past year with regards to my personal style and overall goals. Though UD is primarily a platform for discussing thoughts about clothing, shopping, and image, it has also grown to showcase a little bit about my life and passions which help underscore why I wrote the blog in the first place: “to develop a life uniform–a wardrobe that encompasses any possible scenario I might find myself in–work, party, play, at rest, or on an adventure.”

As the new year unfolds I hope to continue to write here, as long as there is something meaningful to say. Blogs are a dime a dozen and mine is no special flower in the garden that is the Internet. I have fun writing and shooting for UD, and it’s relaxing in its own way. I’ve also been very grateful and happy to get to know and even meet! like-minded people. Makes it seem less like shouting in the void and more of a conversation, which is comforting.

DSC_0557

Thank you all for having been a part of Uniformly Dressed’s first year. Here’s to the new chapter of adventures and discovery!

 

19 thoughts on “Happy first birthday, Uniformly Dressed!

  1. Your blog *is* special because it’s from you, your own voice. So even if there are thousands of voices, there’s only one that’s yours. That was a big takeaway for me at the BlogHer conference I recently attended. Stand in your truth and keep going. Congratulations!

    1. Thank you Gigi. That’s a really good reminder of why we all start in the first place. “I’m me, and this is my viewpoint.” And thankfully we live in a place where most everyone can speak their minds should they choose to do so. Very fortunate to have this privilege.

  2. Yay congrats on the (what I like to call) blogoversary! Glad to hear you’re planning on continuing, your blog is one of my favourites πŸ™‚

    1. Yes, blogoversary/blogiversary it is indeed! It’s a small personal triumph for me to have committed to writing/keeping up with a project.

      *dances

      Now if only I could 30-day OOTD challenge in the fall (I want to capture my work clothes but lighting is such a pain to plan around.)

      1. i used to have a tripod set up at home near a window/wall and took photos in the morning just before i dashed off to work. maybe this will help with a 30-day challenge?

      2. The wall I’ve been shooting against has ideal lighting at lunch time, unfortunately. I’ll see what I can do. The temperatures cool by November (enough for tall boots and the cozy cardigans) but that’s also when the afternoon lighting is all but gone by 5 pm (and I’m still at work.)

        Will brainstorm because I do want to create my own “album” of fall looks.

  3. Congratualtions! I find your blog a joy to read and am quite happy that you’re a (very pretty) flower in the internet garden.

  4. Congratulations! I’m happy to hear you have enjoyed this first year of blogging, and it was so nice to meet you in person! I’m always amazed at how we can connect with people on the other side of the world thanks to the blogging community πŸ™‚ I hope you keep having fun with your little space and see it evolve with you over the years.

  5. That outfit has some really nice pieces that make it go so well together!
    Im a Swedish Blogger based in London, would be awesome if you could check out my blog πŸ˜€

  6. happy first birthday and here’s to many more! so your blog is a leo? i only know this because my dad shares the same birthday πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

