Unwinding

I’m grateful it’s Friday because in just a few hours the weekend begins. Work and home life has been hectic, to say the least. A few friends commented on how I should probably take a break or go on vacation–there simply isn’t time at the moment to do so. I crave the space that weekends bring–it’s a day or two where I don’t have to wake up right away, where I can slow down and hit that snooze button once, maybe twice if I’m feeling luxurious.

To get in the spirit of the weekend, here’s something I made up from the bits and pieces in my closet. Shifting my financial focus onto future travel (and subsequent expenses) has really made it easier to slow my shopping down and think of other things to save up for. My closet is performing well, even if the colors and items do get repetitive at times. It’s too warm for pants, so I’ve been stuck in the same three skirts and three dresses for work and play lately:

DSC_0907

Shirt: JCrew Factory chambray polka-dot shirt (similar)
T-shirt: Cotton On Slinky Crop in ebony
Skirt: Cotton On black miniskirt

I still love this shirt from last yearΒ but the fit is awkward now. It’s too loose to be fitted and yet not quite cutely oversized. I’ve been wearing some of my shirts as summer outerwear to get more use out of them. At the Diptyque event, I left the chambray shirt off and around my waist–my version of the plaid flannel tied around the waist, I suppose. It’s good to have around for when that air conditioning/frigid building temperatures come into play.

DSC_0915

Just a little bit more to go until relative freedom (for two days anyhow) at 5 pm. I look forward to eating a whole bunch of tasty food, iced coffee drinks, and afternoon naps this Saturday and Sunday. What do you look forward to the most during summer weekends?

6 thoughts on “Unwinding

  1. Oh, I didn’t even notice the polka dots on that chambray! I have one by GAP with larger polka dots, but I can’t wear it all that often since it really stands out…

    I just look forward to being able to vegetate πŸ˜› I work some Saturdays, so I never truly get a chance to be lazy.

    1. Hi! Yes, I like the subtle dots–you really have to look up close to catch them.

      I used to work weekends and it was hard to plan anything with friends because of time commitments. I hear ya. Either you budget time for rest or you go do everything you wanted to do anyways and show up to work Monday exhausted. :/

  2. I just can’t work the shirt as outerwear thing, I look so dorky when I do it ha! Sounds like you’ve been busy, hope you get some relaxation in this weekend πŸ™‚

    1. I don’t know about relaxation but I think I ate a whole pig on Sunday alone. At least it feels like it. πŸ™‚ Back to running so I can calorically-afford more delicious iced coffee!

  3. The week-end is definitely a moment to slow down, breathe and spend time for oneself! Since my fiancΓ© and I live apart from each other, most week-ends are about spending time together, a luxury we hope not to forget once we live together again. It’s so easy to get used to the good things we have in life πŸ™‚

    1. I am sure it will make your eventual full-time together-household even sweeter. Though when I was there once, it’s easy to forget the magic that was that other person when you’re mired in daily problems and scuffles.

      Btw Kali your autumn is coming post made me think of digging out all my camel sweaters. I can’t wait till it’s actually cool enough down here to wear them!

Leave a Reply

