All Hallows’ Eve

IMG_1952
Hot stuff.
IMG_1932
Madonna and child.

Happy Halloween to those of you who celebrate. I may not be attending any rowdy parties this year, but I had fun wearing this to work and to my doctor’s appointment. I made everything by hand after realizing that buying a pre-made ketchup tunic would put me out $30 and it still wouldn’t have the Sriracha label. Hand-painting felt takes forever. Don’t be like me and try to sew and paint everything in three weeks (with a work trip scheduled days before the costume is due.)

Thanks for indulging me in today’s silliness! I’ll be back to my regular rambling next week πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “All Hallows’ Eve

  1. I’m seriously impressed. Your handpainted logo looks exactly the same! Did you use a stencil or something? You SHOULD just walk around and gatecrash random parties, I’m sure lots of people would get a kick out of a Sriracha costume.

    1. The label took up the most time; I free-hand copied everything (in black ink first) and then went over it with acrylic paint. HAND PAINTING FELT IS CRAZY. The felt turned pink first, so what I didn’t account for is having to do 2-3 coats on everything. T_T the Chinese characters killed me because there’s small spaces and brush shape subtleties that are so hard to capture crisply. And don’t even get me started on the rooster. I ended up freehanding that too.

      Thank you. I don’t often allow myself recognition, but folks at my work did admire my handiwork. I busted ass and I should party with it, lol!

    1. Thank you Jane! I know this is a late reply, but I’ve just come back from vacation. Hand painting it was the only way to reproduce the logo–I don’t know any screenprinters personally πŸ™‚ I wish I did though.

  2. Okay okay – that beats anything I could ever do or have the patience to do. Actually I would have the patience to do it as I am anal enough around small details and positively get a kick out of it but I would never think to dress up as a Sriracha bottle. I don’t eat the stuff myself but my hubs does along with my elder boy who is slowly getting a taste for spicy stuff. But I take off my hat to you – it is one awesome costume!

    1. Thank you Sue! You’re a formidable craftsperson yourself so I bet if you had enough motivation you could. I wanted a costume I was enthused about and I wanted to win a costume contest at work…didn’t win at work but I still felt good making something from scratch and having it turn out the way I wanted it to. πŸ™‚

      For next year I think I will be refining the label and including the Nutrition Facts for the back side. It just takes time and I just have to plan a little better.

    1. Thank you Steph! I enjoyed myself, though I really should have started crafting two months beforehand. I was still painting up until the night before and I finished the hat by midnight :/ procrastination = more reliance on glue gun than I’d rather have.

Leave a Reply

