Workweek 12/15 – 12/19

I’m bloody exhausted but here is mid-December’s installment of “Workweek.”

IMG_3946

Monday: Lands End 2013 Luxe Wool Walker Coat, old Uniqlo polka dot poly dress, Target tights, Nike Lunarglide 5
Tuesday: Banana Republic Textured Cropped Turtleneck, Uniqlo Ultra Light Down Vest, Uniqlo Ultra Stretch jeans, Ecco Sculptured GTX booties
Wednesday: JCrew Factory plaid flannel shirt, Zara cropped cotton sweater, Uniqlo Ultra Stretch jeans, Born Valentina riding boots
Thursday: see Tuesday.
Friday: Muji cable-knit open cardigan, Uniqlo Ultra Stretch jeans, Nike Lunarglide 4.

Being sick really throws everything into perspective. When one is healthy, it is easy to take many things for granted, like exercise. I am annoyed at not being able to run or not having energy to do anything after work. As far as getting dressed, you can see my creativity took a hit this week. I repeated Tuesday with no shame. That darn sweater is just so comfortable; I’ve purchased another in the light gray color which is due to arrive today. I may just wear turtlenecks for the next three months and call it a day.

I hope I’ll be better by next week–Christmas is nigh! I hope you all are staying healthy.

18 thoughts on “Workweek 12/15 – 12/19

  1. You seriously inspire me, K. I love your looks. You look so freakin together! As for me, I’ve transformed into Bieber. Okay, here’s what I wear everyday: jeans, white tshirt, uniqlo fleece jacket, socks. This look is topped with yet another uniqlo hoodie and my heattech beanie. I wear this outfit everyday and it’s okay, I guess. Benefit: dressing this way is easy. Downside: it’s boring. And, more points off for the Bieber look-a-like thing. How do you do it? Do you plan your outfits ahead of time, like the night before? Or, do you just whip something up the morning of? How do you do it??? What’s your secret?

    Uhhh…My response kinda became a rant — sorry about that, Kristina. Seriously tho, I’m lovin’ your looks.

    1. Hey Katrina 😀 A silly one such as me could very well get a big ego with all this love coming at me, hehe! Thank you.

      Bieber WISHES he woke up like you did #FLAWLESS 😀 and also, you’re preaching to the choir here with your Uniqlo outerwear. I can’t wait till they restock with more Extra Warm Heattech!

      As for the looks, most of it is day-of deciding but occasionally I’ll get a thought where I decide I want to wear a certain item (say a striped shirt for example) and I’ll build something from there. The plaid shirt outfit was inspired by another blogger (Maja Huse!) or I get into ruts where I wear the exact same outfit or item repeatedly for weeks (see Uniqlo vest, Banana sweater.)

      I wish I had more science or artistry to my decision making. When it comes to crunch time it’s definitely what will keep me cool/warm and is soft and comfortable. Temperature and comfort always win, which is why I gravitate to the same general look all the time. no special fashion analysis here unfortunately 🙂

      1. Ikaw ha! 🙂 Seriously tho, thanks for sharing your thought process. For me, choosing outfits “the day of” gets to me. Out of sheer luck sometimes, an outfit will *work*, but most of the time, choice becomes a source of great stress and hence I resort to the same outfit day after day. Then again, a uniform isn’t all that bad since I work from home, but it would be a completely different story otherwise!

        Enough of my outfit gripes — I hope you had an awesome Xmas, Kristina!!

  2. Feel better soon! Hopefully you have some days off next week to recover properly 🙂 Your outfits sure look warm and comfy, perfect for when you are sick but still need to go to work! I love the Friday cardigan, I think we have different collections at Muji Europe because I don’t remember ever seeing it here. As usual, very polished and very you 😉

    1. Thank you 🙂 The Friday cardigan is a F/W 2013 one. I haven’t gone to look at this year’s offerings other than when I saw that lookbook online, which is probably better for my wallet 😀

      I’m on the mend, but still not at 100% just yet. I currently travel with a “mobile pharmacy” which is a paper bag full of tissues, cough syrup, and pain reliever. Here’s to hoping I’m sniffle-free by Christmas Eve!

  3. This work week sounds like my work week last week! Only you are considerably better dressed and put together than I was! I had a cold and rolled into my dress code-less job in yoga pants, over-sized sweaters, and Minnetonkas. I hope you are feeling better! One of my co-workers introduced me to Cold-Eeze, and it changed my life.

    Also, I have never been inside a Uniqlo, but your vest is motivating me to drive to Costa Mesa, take a deep breath, and enter the overwhelming-ness that is South Coast Plaza to check it out.

    1. Kathy! Where are you in SoCal? There’s a few Uniqlos in LA now too so if you’re closer out to that area that might be better. And I’m super biased but I love South Coast Plaza, it is the best mall in the Southern California area IMO ❤

      I'm somewhat bending my own personal dress code this week (we technically don't have one at work either, but I make myself wear boots so I feel more put-together.) There is hardly a soul in the office, so I'm going to go with oversized sweatshirts and cardigans, Nikes, and big scarves. I have yet to metabolize this holiday food pooch and there's still leftovers at home 😀

      1. I’m in San Diego, so South Coast would be the closest, but I visit LA frequently, so maybe I will save my Uniqlo adventure for my next trip up. South Coast is amazing, but it’s just SO MUCH and SO BIG. I get lost every single time I’m there!

        Big scarves are my solution to dressing up everything. And my cat loafers 🙂 I’ll try a little harder next week and maybe put on a dress.

        Leftovers are the best part of the holidays! I’m basking in the holiday food pooch glow as much as I can before the tidal wave of detox/exercise messages in January.

      2. Cat loafers? 😀 oh man I wanna see that! I guess I’m biased, having shopped at South Coast for a while that it doesn’t seem big to me, but you can get a pretty good workout in just walking the whole building. And if you take the bridge across to Crystal Court, that’s a good mile around. Now I kind of want to measure it just to be sure–it doesn’t feel like exercise when you’re window-shopping.

      3. Oooh! THE cat loafers. These look awesome. I’m glad they’re holding up well–you must take good care of your shoes. (I should follow your example. Velvet wouldn’t last a day in my care.)

      4. I DO take good care of my shoes – especially at that price! I had rubber soles put on them a month after I got them, and they have held up really well. Black velvet is surprisingly resilient, and hides dirt, er, is easy to clean 🙂

  4. it sucks being sick especially in winter! i don’t envy you – but i hope you’re feeling much much better by now. pretty awesome workweek dressing still – sensible shoes and comfortable clothing is always a win for me. i don’t do day by day shots because i repeat outfits soooo often – hey if it works, it works 🙂

    1. I have been stuck in the same three turtleneck sweaters for the last 2 weeks until our CA heat decided to come back this week. It’s cold inside the office but beach-weather by the time I get out for lunch.

      I’d just like the weather to stay put–either be hot all the time or cold all the time! 😦

Leave a Reply

