Workplace dress will always fascinate me. There’s no shortage of wonders in what people deem work-appropriate, and I like to see what others come up with. My employment does not have a dress code, but my job has a significant front-facing, public dimension. This whole blog has been about me trying different ways to improve my outer image, to learn how to build a good foundation of a wardrobe that will serve me well in my daily activities.

Last month I was hemming and hawing over adding a new silhouette to my repertoire, but this month I’m back in my menswear corner, opting for a far more masculine vibe:

Blazer: old JCrew maritime blazer (seeΒ 2013 me)
Shirt: old Lands End No Iron Supima dress shirt
Pants: Gap tailored crop pantsΒ 
Boots: Ecco Structured 45 Gore-Tex booties
Belt: black leather, silver buckle. borrowed from my grandmother.

I got some new pants from Gap and they’ve revitalized my workwear pieces. I’m back to slacks, socks and shoes! I’m enjoying them. I have been searching for new pants for a while and I hope these ones stand the test of time (and the washing machine.)

Eventually maybe I’ll learn to look less rumpled and be even slicker but for now, I’m happy with what I’ve got. My pants have functional pockets and don’t drag on the floor (thank you “ankle length” option). Next on my vague list is a black jacket that ends at the waist–maybe a light bomber style jacket. Something to throw over myself at work that can be casual or dressier depending on what I’m wearing.

That’s where I am sartorially as of late. I suppose because there’s not much change in what I’ve been doing, it’s affected my blog posting schedule here. These days I’m far more likely to update via Instagram–it’s admittedly a lot easier to write a short sentence than a whole post, not to mention I’m quite visually oriented. Please join me there should you feel so inclined πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Menswear redux

  1. I used to wear a pair of machine-washable Gap pants as my main work pants as well. Admittedly, I didn’t wear them all that often because I was a student, but they got a lot of wear during interviews and summer internships. (I found that they held up quite well over time. They were still in pretty good condition when I decided to donate them after owning them for almost five years!)

    1. That’s good to know, Xin! I’ve had only one pair of Gap premium pants, but like you that one barely got any wear because I didn’t want to ruin them in college either. Still going strong, but I don’t fit in them anymore. I should probably give them away.

  2. I like it! I currently have two pairs of slacks but I’m thinking about whether or not I’m justified in buying another pair in black… since I have to dress smart-casual 5 days of the week now, they’re actually becoming more of a staple for me than jeans!

    1. Your internship, Jane? Yep. Life changes must demand wardrobe changes too. My work wardrobe always takes priority when I’m shopping (since most of what I own can be transitioned to play clothes.)

      I would like to work on my shoe game, but that’s a bit tougher. I’d like some casual shoe options that aren’t so blocky-looking, as most of my shoes’ designs do skew in the orthopedic-look πŸ˜›

  3. I am loving this outfit, and your Instagram! Your job sounds like my job, dress-code and office-setting-wise. I work with engineers, and I don’t think anyone would care if I rolled in to work in sweatpants and flip flops. When I first started, I felt like I was perpetually overdressed, and now I have fallen into the comfortable rut of black jeans, oversized sweaters, and cat flats. You’re inspiring me to shake things up a bit!

    1. We have quite a few technical staff in-house, and they are most often in jeans and tees because of their field work. And yet it is this same crew that occasionally calls me out on what I wear! Eeesh.

      When work slowed down over the holidays, I was in perpetual jeans and sweatshirt mode. Now that the year’s started back up again, there are more meetings and visitors going through the office, so it’s time to spruce up a bit.

      Kathy, are you on IG?

      1. I pulled on my black Madewell blazer this morning in an attempt to break out of the rut! I love J. Crew blazers, but they haven’t fit me right since 2011. I don’t know if they changed the cut, but there’s something off about the way they fit me since then.

        As for a black jacket that hits at the waist, have you considered a motorcycle-style jacket? They pull everything together. I’ve actually had my eye on this one from Express in Butterscotch: http://www.express.com/clothing/minus+the+leather+seamed+moto+jacket/pro/8802568/cat320021

        And, I am on Instagram (@katheelee). Let’s be IG friends!

Leave a Reply

