I’m in this place of waking up, working, coming home, running, eating, sleeping–the usual grind. Then the weekend happens. I don’t want to get into the habit of glorifying the weekend because I don’t want to be that person that hates routine or thinks it’s boring (it’s not.) Maybe eventually I’ll find a better balance between weekday obligations and weekend excess but for right now this is where I am; I use these two days to explore my passions, recharge, and collect scenes of pretty things to look at when I’m huddled in front of a screen.

Spent a pleasant afternoon in Downtown Santa Ana after my morning run:

IMG_7654
Red car, red brick, red flowers.

I went back to Hopper and Burr to take some pictures of the interior and also to enjoy some more coffee. It’s a pop-up coffee shop inside Little Sparrow CafeΒ and is open Mon-Sat 7 am to 3 pm.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset
A fairly well-Instagrammed floor.
Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset
House-made ganache in the mocha. Currently using Phil and Sebastian coffee from Calgary, Canada.

By the way for those of you in OC/LA, Hopper and Burr is having a Coffee Negroni Week all this week. 3 signature cocktails will be featured, ranging $8-12. It’s 5 o’clock somewhere, ne?

Kept driving down to Costa Mesa’s South Coast Plaza to research some black sneakers. Didn’t find any, but am curious about these New Balance 580s. They’ve got a Back to the Future vibe that is amusing to me, but I’m not sure if that’s the direction I want to go toward. Ended up at TK Burgers for the “Mini-Bargain” meal which while diminutive packs a whole lot of flavor and value in each bite. Nothing beats freshly done french fries (hoho!) and a juicy cheeseburger.

I eat a lot of cheeseburgers.

On Sunday my brilliant friend B convinced me to go on a hike, so off we went to nearby Crystal Cove State Park to check out some new trails:

IMG_7622
The mostly sandy, low-brush “wilderness” we have in Orange County.

Β The Crystal Cove area touches the water but if you go up into the hills it is possible to hike into nearby Irvine, Newport Beach, and Laguna Woods via the extensive trail system. I typically like to begin/end near the water, but there are other park access points in the aforementioned cities that are worth checking out (plus they usually are free parking as opposed to parking on the state property.) Overall as a hike location Crystal Cove is sandy and has little shade–so start early and wear good shoes. It’s big enough to have challenging routes but is also well-maintained and fairly clean. Bonus: Ruby’s Shake Shack hut along Pacific Coast Highway has good shakes and snacks post-hike and it’s kind of a cute drive-in off the road.

A piece of quartz, or so B says. Oh and I’d like to be a mountain goat some day so in the meantime I’ll practice on anything that resembles a rock.

IMG_7650
Sidecar serves Stumptown Cold Brew and their own roasted coffees in their brewed/espresso line up.

After the hike we rewarded ourselves with delicious treats from Sidecar Doughnuts and Coffee.

IMG_7653
Wild/foraged huckleberry donuts.

 

I liked the Colt’s Tooth macchiato I got–I don’t remember the tasting notes nor am I sophisticated enough (yet) to know what I’m drinking. But any coffee I don’t add sugar or cream to make palatable is good news, so we’ll go with that. πŸ™‚ Let’s talk about these donuts though–oh my! Mine was a “Mexican hot chocolate” donut and the one with a bite on it is butter and salt. I enjoyed how fluffy my raised donut was–I was expecting more cinnamon flavor but it wasn’t too apparent in the donut–maybe it was toned down to make more accessible for others? My friend said her butter and salt donut was decadent. Either way, I will probably be back to buy these as presents/treats for friends and family; this definitely falls under special-occasion sweets at $3-5 per specialty flavor.

Well look at that; publishing a weekend recap post before the next one rolls around! Such motivation πŸ™‚ Have a lovely week, folks!Β Never give up!

13 thoughts on “Sans titre

  1. great photos, Kristina! What are you using to take your pics?

    Love the subway tile floors. Coffee and doughnuts look delicious !

    1. Hi Patricia! Thank you. This blog post was shot with the iPhone 5S. For my OOTD blog posts, I use either a Nikon D90 with a 35 mm 1.8 or my Nikon Coolpix A on a tripod with a remote. I would also occasionally use the iPhone for OOTDs but it doesn’t get as crisp and clear a shot as the dedicated cameras, obviously. Somehow, however, it’s really good for closeups. Go figure!

      I wish I lived in a city with subways; unfortunately in Southern California I have to drive to a train station and make it a point to shoot there. :/

  2. burgers and donuts sound good to me. I’m probably one of the few people that would love the taste of a burger with donuts as buns, not making that up!!! It existed @ one pt in time.

    1. Pret, I’m not sure where in LA, but I know a few have been toying with the burger patty/donut bun concept. Think Krispy Kreme style total glaze though.

      I’m intrigued but also a bit daunted because donuts are already pretty oily and sugary, and to have say a donut cheeseburger? I might need an ambulance on standby.

      I like dipping my french fries in chocolate soft-serve or milkshakes, though. And french fries with cream cheese. Oooh. I’d totally eat the latter right now.

  3. Those doughnuts! Ugh you are really amping up my cravings every time you make a new post haha! I really like the look of the 580s, they’re more interesting than some of the other classics I think. I just bought a pair of all-black 410s yesterday and am really loving them in spite of my hesitance to jump on the sport-show trend? So I say go for it!

    1. I’ll have to go back and look at the 410s, that sounds intriguing!

      It makes me happy that I make you guys hungry. Now I’m not alone in salivating! πŸ˜€ #scheming

  4. Sounds like a good weekend – great balance of activity and food, haha.I love the snaps you take too, all so well composed πŸ˜‰

    1. Jane, your photography inspires me! πŸ™‚ Apparently today is National Donut Day. I’ll just have to think about those donuts I posted while I’m stuck at work.

  5. Mountain goats are definitely an underappreciated species and deserve more love, and looks like you’re close to being skilled enough to join them πŸ˜€ Also, I’m definitely more than a little envious of the amazing outdoor scenery and trails you have access to in California. The work week routine just makes the weekends more special!

    1. Soon I will be one of them. Knowing me, however, I might be the clumsy one πŸ˜€

      You too have beautiful scenery (I drool over your Flickr!) in (Estonia?) I wasn’t sure. I live in the southern and VERY urbanized part of California (quite close to Los Angeles); to get to a proper “forest” it takes about a forty-five minute drive, if not more. Though I will say that as a state, California is pretty fortunate to have a diverse selection of landscapes: we have mountains that get snow, we have large-tall-tree forests, seascapes, and we also have an extensive desert. I’ve yet to even see a fraction of all these places! πŸ™‚

      1. Yep, it’s Estonia! We do have pretty nature – but it’s sort of – small-scale? Like the country itself (just look at this: http://mapfight.appspot.com/california-vs-ee/california-us-estonia-size-comparison :). Nothing like the amazing grandness you have in the US and especially in California (not that I’ve ever been… I’ve only seen photos). Also, it’s summer right now so I’m not complaining, but in winter, the climate in California starts looking really really nice πŸ˜€

      2. Oh my goodness that Mapfight link!

        Don’t worry–I haven’t been to most of my home state either! Just the big cities (Los Angeles, San Francisco) and a few handful of spots in between. Northern California has forests and snow and skiing that I haven’t had a chance to partake in yet, and now the state is experiencing a severe drought. 😦

        Now I want to read up on Estonia. I am so glad you are here talking to me, it’s so nice to learn from others–so much is the same, and yet different. πŸ™‚

  6. Ah, drought, there’s one thing we don’t usually have to worry about here *shakes fist at the sky for another rained out weekend day* Hope you get some relief from that soon (but during the work week, not weekend, heh).

Leave a Reply

