Summer is here. With a vengeance. It went from muggy and cloudy to clear, dry and hot like an oven. Despite the threat of awkward tan lines, I can’t currently stomach the thought of wearing more than shorts and a tank:

too hot either way

Top: old Uniqlo men’s chambray buttondown
Tank: old Zella workout racer back tank
Shorts: DIY Levi’s cut offs

But sun-safe and sun-smart me knows I should probably at least cover my shoulders and chest up. Just say no to melanomas, you guys. Skin cancer concerns are real for everyone, even for those who don’t get sunburned. Also, I live in a very sun-happy capital, where year-round tans are possible, but not necessarily wise.

I’m still trying not to get carried away with buying too many clothes but this is the time of year where I am susceptible to black cotton tops. I have quite a few of them (v-neck tees, short tanks, long tanks) so I don’t really need more. We’ll see how well I resist temptation this year. I’d rather get more sneakers; I need a new black pair anyway.

What’s on your sartorial radar this summer?

17 thoughts on “burnt

    1. I inherited it from a boy, so it’s extra #menswear 😛 I don’t think you want it to be hot and muggy! Enjoy your winter! Winter’s so much easier to dress for.

  1. I could buy black tees forever. I am login my new sunscreen. Alba facial in the pink bottle from whole foods.

  2. I’m still loving the DIY cutoffs! Aah I find it so hard to dress for hot weather – I generally like winter fashion better, and I’m a bit of a sweaty person haha. Being sun safe is definitely important, even though I do want a tan!

    1. I’m a sweaty tomato too! It’s the worst! Never look elegant, frizzy hairlines, and I look deflated next to everyone else.

      The DIY cutoffs make me want to do a second pair 🙂

  3. I love your cutoffs! Hoping to find time and some old jeans to DIY my own pair this summer. This is the time of year that I am most susceptible to white dresses – specifically of the lacy/bohemian variety. My wardrobe tends towards darks and neutrals so white always feels like a breath of fresh air.

    There isn’t too much that I need these days, aside from a new pair of running shoes. I have been stressing out over what to wear to a wedding this weekend, but am resisting the urge to buy anything new. My most recent acquisitions have been a romper in navy blue and a black jumpsuit. The darker colors have remedied my previous grievances with one pieces (i.e, unfortunate emphasis on the crotch, unflattering pulling of material on one’s backside). Otherwise, I am still working on whittling down my closet and letting go of things that I don’t wear anymore. I drank the Koolaid in the form of reading Marie Kondo’s book on tidying up and am so inspired, but find it so hard to part with old clothes!

    A friend and I went through each other’s closets recently, and she gave me an old floppy sunhat that I can’t wait to wear to the beach! Year-round tans are definitely possible in SoCal, but man, when I look at pictures of my overly-tan self from college, all I can think about are the possible pre-cancerous cells I’ve subjected myself to. ::shudder::

    1. I was going to say oh perfect wedding guest outfit–wait, white lacy dresses probably not so much.

      …real talk, how does one go to the bathroom in a dignified manner in rompers?

      +1 with you on the bad tans from college! I was fit from swimming (thanks swimming!) but good lord the racerback tan took forever to fade.

      1. There is no dignified way that I am aware of. Unless one has a catheter and drainage bag, wearing a romper/jumpsuit means undressing oneself fully in a bathroom stall when nature calls. Finally finding a flattering romper has made this entirely worth it, though.

        And the racerback tan! Yes, those did and do take forever to fade. Post-high school swim team, I searched obsessively for a one piece that did NOT have a racerback. Thank goodness for J. Crew.

      2. You…are a braver woman than I am. I’m totally okay with changing at the beach (under a towel) and or in my car but for some reason the bathroom-topless-thing makes me feel super vulnerable.

        Degrees and time spent in dishabille 😛

  4. I need a new pair of denim shorts for summer, but I’ve been dragging my feet on actually looking for it. I tried on one style at Uniqlo, but the sizing was strange for me. I’ve been indoors studying for most of the summer so I haven’t had to worry as much about dressing to go outside or sun protection! I’ve never been that good about using sunscreen on my body except when I’m at the beach.

    1. I find Uniqlo shorts to fit me oddly too! At my thinnest, I could be a 25 if it’s the Kaihara denim or this Pure Blue line but then otherwise I’m a 27-28. But the short’s rear doesn’t fit me. -sigh- Have you tried a higher waisted style? I haven’t had much luck with Gap’s offerings (granted I checked that in spring) but you might have better luck than me.

      Good luck with your courses this summer! but do take a small break every once in a while–the extra light in the late afternoon may afford some short adventures.

  5. This is the time of year where I’m susceptible to any clothing that keeps me cool. I bought two pairs of shorts last weekend in desperation since I had no pairs that fit me. Still mad jelly of your cutoffs and haven’t found the time to go thrifting yet!

    1. I just succumbed to an F21 purchase myself. 😛 the name of the game this summer (at least for weekend wear) is loose, loose, loose! let the fabric flow 🙂

  6. Somehow, despite taking precautions, every summer I end up with a bag strap tan line across my chest/shoulder 😛 I’ve been meaning to try out linen jersey tops for summer, pretty much every store seems to be doing them this year, but most are a bit too oversized/long for me. It’s usually all canvas sneakers and tank tops for me too.

    1. Dressing for work is so challenging–I don’t want to wear anything but the loosest sleeveless items!

      I’ve already succumbed to a loose black dress so far this summer–a fast fashion buy 😦

Leave a Reply

