Hueman x Madsteez piece at Pow!Wow! Long Beach.

I haven’t had much time to write in the last two weeks–I have photos to share; I always do. But there hasn’t been much time for self-reflection as life calls me to other places.Β Β I had a quiet start to the year, but there are a bunch of social engagements lined up for the summer. It’s a good time to mingle and reconnect with friends and family–I am exhausted, but I welcome it. All too soon I am sure I will retreat into my shell, for self-preservation, but for now, the oyster is here to play.

The only new item I’ve invested in for the summer (so far) is this jersey trapeze dressΒ which is actually a close dupe of this Brandy Melville Alena dress. Both are made from a good-draping, opaque jersey, but I’ll say that the Brandy Melville one is a bit thicker and heavier than the Forever21 version. At any rate–it is hopefully my one and only indulgent summer purchase; I don’t really want to accumulate any more light knits to take up space in the closet.

In the meantime, I hope you are all having a good summer (or winter/spring?) Where have you gone off to (or are planning to go?)

8 thoughts on “Flying

  1. Very cool photo!

    Not too many social engagements for me this summer because I’ve been stuck indoors studying for the bar. I do get to go on a long trip after the exam though, partially to see family, and partially with friends.

    1. Thank you Xin. And good luck on the bar! It will be well worth the sacrifice once you’re done. And then you can relax on your long trip when it’s all over!

  2. Ah that is a badass photo, I love it! Enjoy your social butterfly-ness πŸ™‚ I’m bunkered down for the winter studying and trying to save money!

    1. Thanks Jane. The social engagements come at the price of my mental comfort–but it is for a good reason (wedding season, friends departing for work, etc.) There will be plenty of time to hole up and bunker down later.

  3. Wonderful art! I hear you on life commitments and having less time for self reflection, that’s how I’ve felt for the first six months of this year. Beware though, I have noticed that now that things are quieter, all the life questioning is coming back in full force after six months of social commitments, work and move logistics. I’d love to know if the same happens to you in a few weeks once things quiet down for you…

    1. The life questioning never stops, I just don’t have time to develop complexes about it. I struggle with my self-conceptions about how my weight should be. If I’m being a good friend/daughter/person to those around me. etc.

      I just don’t have time to freeze up now because like this weekend–it’s go go go. I’m looking forward to coffee on Sunday–maybe I can sit down and space out!

Leave a Reply

