It’s been a while since I did one of these, but judging from my stats/analytics it seems quite a fair amount of people happen upon this blog because of my previous post on Uniqlo’s Ultra Light Down vest.Β Here’s a hybrid review/update now that I own its sleeved-sibling, the Ultra Light Down (Water Defender) jacket.

DSC_6777

Over Christmas I received a Uniqlo gift card from my awesome relatives, so first thing I did in January was to go for that ever-exciting black for the jacket version.Β If it ain’t broke, or so the saying goes. Fit is the same for me–the small is the best across the shoulders, but it IS a little tight across the hips. I’m okay with that since I wear it more like a shirt than a jacket. Size up if you want to wear thick sweaters under, otherwise, take your usual sizing.

I’ve owned the vest for about two years now. I lost some fill in the bottom part in the back, and a small amount around the neck. It’s not visually noticeable, but I know how puffy those sections used to be. I predict about the same pattern of loss will occur with the jacket–and who knows how much I’ll lose in the sleeves. Overall, it shouldn’t affect the fit or the warmth of the garment.

DSC_6783
Seams on the jacket version.

Something to note: the jacket’s pockets have zippers, a welcome upgrade from the zipper-less ones from my vest. Not sure if this year’s vests have them–so you might be luckier than I. The pockets will do for a phone and keys.

Water Defender: I’ve been unable to test this claim as 1. I live in California, which barely sees any rain, and I don’t know if the news has spread internationally, but 2. we’re having a terrible droughtΒ as well. To be correct: it has rained some in other parts of the state but not as much where I live. As far as this jacket’s waterproof abilities, I’m sure it will keep out a mist or a small spatter, but I wouldn’t toss out your Gore-tex any time soon. The jackets and vests do not have weather-sealed seams or zippers.

Nota bene:Β  I vaguely remember at one point maybe late 2014 or early 2015 there was a regular ULD line and these “new” Water Defender style jackets. This year they seem to have incorporated it into the main ULD offerings. So to be exact, my 2014 vest is not part of this new line, but my 2016 jacket should be water-repellent. It probably doesn’t make sense to market one jacket that is hydrophobic but still offer one that isn’t. Anyway.

The Ultra Light Down products really shine in the weight and layering department, which is what I bought it for. I’ve worn the jacket under a rain coat, and the vest under a wool peacoat. It’s not going to be a severe-weather solution, but for most people and most situations, it will be plenty. It’s best to think of them as modular warmth for the torso and arms that you can pack easily.

DSC_6767 ed
Carhartt beanie, Uniqlo ULD Water Defender jacket, Vans Excerpt chino joggers

I hope some of that discourse helps you with your purchases! Stay warm and enjoy your weekend. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Review: Uniqlo Ultra Light Down Water Defender Jacket

    1. I am back! πŸ™‚

      This upcoming week wouldn’t be a bad time to check out the shop; Uniqlo’s running a Chinese New Year promotion. The ULD jacket I posted about in particular is on sale for $58 (at least on the US e-commerce site.)

      Thank you for coming by to read!

Leave a Reply

